top of page

Castle Contest Interview One: Anhayla Lycia!

Hello everyone!

With just a month left until the 2nd Annual Castle, Home and Garden Contest in support of the American Cancer Society, we wanted to feature interviews with each builder, plus their work in progress!

We are so excited to see everyone's builds. They will be competing for a top prize of $L100,000 to their team kiosk or a General donation kiosk. Cuddly, Sidonie, Fairie, Nina, Tron and myself had the pleasure to go check out some castles and meet the builders. They are very excited for the contest, hosted at dAlliez estates, June 15-21!

Our first builder interview is with Anhyala Lycia, who is from the team Relay Wizards for Spunky!

Rowena: Hello, Anhayla! How are you today?

Anhayla: Oh, I'm great! The castle here is not really really but we do have some rooms with the dungeon right now.

Rowena: So, tell me about some of the main features your castle has/will have?

Anhayla: Oh no! I see Sid going into the dungeon. I hope she comes out alive! Anyway, I was absolutely enchangted by the maze at the Fantasy Faire, which was for Relay for Life.

Rowena: Oh my gosh yes!

Anhayla: So I wanted to build a mini one.

Rowena: How lovely! I bet it will turn out great.

Anhayla: I hope to have a dragon lair in here somewhere.

Rowena: Very nice. I love the texturing! It looks like you're on your way to much success.

Anhayla: I also want to hide a room or two behind secret entrances.

Rowena: So, what inspired you to join the Castle, Home and Garden Contest?

Anhayla: My first love is building castles and water features. I've been on hiatus as a builder for a couple years, except for relay related things and I thought going back to my castle roots would be a challenge for me.

Rowena: And what a challenge! That leads me to my next question.. why do you relay?

Anhayla: Cancer has touched the lives of so many people in my life. I've lost family members to cancer and had a little scare personally last year. Thankfully it turned out to be benign. But this year, I have a student who is a leukemia survivor. She has been a personal inspiration to me. Her positive attitude and energy is an inspiration to me.

Rowena: Oh that's wonderful to hear, about you. We are working so hard to fight and make sure that this doesn't happen in the future. After all, the future is now. That's so sad, although a survivor... that's great! So many emotions, up and down :)

Rowena: We are very happy to have you! Good luck in the contest. As you know, there are 20 castles and only the top 5 will get prizes-- but no matter what happens, you built for a good cause. Your build will get some linden at the OOAK auction, and your sweat and tears will have been worth it-- for your student, your family members, and for yourself.

Anhayla: Thank you! I am glad to be part of this wonderful contest.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page